Retour à la liste des nouvelles

Nouvelles

French-language cultural and educational activities for communities

April 29, 2020


Francophones and francophiles are showing a lot of resilience during the COVID-19 pandemic. Invaluable programs and activities are emerging to inspire and assist the community.

Alberta

The Greater North Central Francophone Education Region No. 2 (CSCN) of northeastern Alberta has published the first edition of its guide for parents while classes are suspended.

Many new activities will be added to the CSCN guide in the coming weeks. “The overall purpose of the guide,” said CSCN superintendent Robert Lessard, “is to make sure students aren’t behind in their studies when they return to school in the fall.”

Saskatchewan

The French Canadian Society of Prince Albert(SCFPA) regularly posts French-language activities on social media.

In collaboration with the Language Portal of Canada, it offers games for members to test their knowledge of French. “If we’ve learned one thing from the COVID-19 crisis,” said SCFPA executive director Christain Fure, “it’s that we francophones need live in solidarity, not solitude.”

Manitoba

French-language organizations in Winnipeg have also set up online programs to help replace get-togethers that have had to be cancelled.

One example is the online party de cuisine put on by Festival du Voyageur, a Facebook page where artists and others can share song and dance videos and interact.

New Brunswick

A kitchen/cooking competition was held in Caraquet to get families doing things together.

Mélanie Chiasson, a teacher at Caraquet’s Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux, joined forces with the owners of Motel & Camping Colibri for the contest, which was aimed at building bridges and giving families an enjoyable experience they could share. Finalists were selected via Facebook on April 4.

Down the road in Petit Rocher, singer-songwriter Danny Boudreau, a native of the nearby village of Pointe-Verte, is singing “On va s’en sortir.” He serves up a song every day from his songbook via his Facebook page.

Ontario

Ottawa’s National Arts Centre has a new way of highlighting the arts online with its #CanadaPerforms series.

Concerts streamed online have turned the spotlight on Canadian artists. Facebook Canada and the National Arts Centre launched the program to provide paid work to artists whose regular income has been affected by social distancing through a $700,000 endowment that hosts performances on an almost daily basis.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia cultural associations such as Société Acadienne de Clare, Société Saint-Pierre, and Fédération culturelle acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FéCANE) are taking advantage of social media to livestream shows and arts workshops to strengthen ties among francophone individuals and organizations.

Louisiana

Social distancing is giving new impetus to the French language in Louisiana.

The famous Festival International de Louisiane, held annually in Lafayette at the end of April for the past 34 years, was replaced with an amazing virtual experience this year from April 24th to 26th. Check out the replay of the Festival last day here

Lockdowns required to slow the spread of COVID-19 are giving rise to creative social media projects that not only help people stay in touch with French-speaking loved ones, but provide teaching materials and resources for people in self-isolation. French classes are now offered on Instagram Live by a teacher at Beau Chene High School in Arnaudville. Many Louisianans are taking advantage of the isolation to learn or relearn Cajun French. While over a million Louisianans spoke French in 1970, only 100,000 speak it today.

In the Americas

Centre de la francophonie des Amériques has a live series entitled Concerts francophones 100 % Franco-Amérique—the latest of which featured singer-songwriter Alexandre Belliard in D’une Amérique à l’autre. Belliard passionately and imaginatively shared the works he created for Légendes d’un peuple, a project of his based on the francophone culture and heritage of the Americas.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des nouvelles

Nouvelles

Des activités culturelles et éducatives en français proposées aux communautés

29 avril 2020


Les communautés francophones et francophiles traversent cette pandémie en faisant preuve de beaucoup de résilience. Des programmes et activités grandement utiles émergent, inspirent et servent bien leurs citoyens

Alberta

Le Conseil scolaire Centre-Nord (CSCN) dans le Nord-Est de l’Alberta a publié une première version d'un guide pour aider les parents durant la suspension des cours.

Les activités proposées par le guide du CSCN se multiplieront dans les semaines à venir. « L'objectif global du guide scolaire est d'éviter les écarts en matière d'apprentissage lorsqu'arrivera la prochaine rentrée scolaire », souligne Robert Lessard, directeur général du CSCN.

Saskatchewan

En Saskatchewan, la Société canadienne-française de Prince Albert(SCFPA) diffuse régulièrement des activités en français sur ses réseaux sociaux.

En collaboration avec le portail linguistique du Canada, elle propose à ses membres de tester leurs connaissances du français par des jeux. « S'il y a une leçon à tirer par cette crise de la COVID-19, nous, francophones, devrions vivre en solidarité et non en solitude », affirme Christian Fure, directeur général de la SCFPA.

Manitoba

Des organismes francophones de Winnipeg ont aussi mis en place des programmes en ligne pour faire face aux rassemblements qui ont dû être annulés.

Un exemple est le « party de cuisine » en ligne lancé par le Festival du Voyageur, une page Facebook ou les gens, artistes, etc. peuvent partager des vidéos de chansons ou danses et interagir ensemble.

Nouveau-Brunwick

À Caraquet, au Nouveau-Brunswick, un concours de cuisine en ligne a été lancé pour stimuler les activités familiales.

Mélanie Chiasson, enseignante à la Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux de Caraquet, s’est jointe aux propriétaires du Motel & Camping Colibri, afin de lancer ce concours qui avait pour but de briser l’isolement et de faire vivre des expériences familiales agréables. Les finalistes ont été choisis le 4 avril par le public à partir de la plateforme Facebook.

Toujours au Nouveau-Brunswick, « On va s’en sortir », chante l’auteur-compositeur-interprète de Petit-Rocher, originaire du village voisin de Pointe-Verte, Danny Boudreau. Il offre quotidiennement une chanson tirée de son répertoire sur sa page Facebook.

Ontario

À Ottawa, le Centre national des Arts met de l’avant les arts en ligne d’une nouvelle façon grâce à leur série de performances #CanadaEnPrestation

Elle met l’accent sur des artistes canadiens lors de concerts diffusés en ligne. Cette initiative, lancée par Facebook Canada et le Centre national des Arts, permet aux artistes d’obtenir une compensation pour leur travail durant cette période de distanciation physique, puisque les fonds de 100 000$ permettent de payer les artistes pour leurs performances offertes presque quotidiennement.

Nouvelle-Écosse

En Nouvelle-Écosse, des associations culturelles telles que la Société Acadienne de Clare, la Société Saint-Pierre et la Fédération culturelle acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FéCANE) profitent des réseaux sociaux pour présenter des spectacles virtuels et des ateliers d'arts exécutés en direct et à distance par vidéo afin de renforcer les réseaux francophones.

Louisiane

La distanciation sociale ravive la langue française en Louisiane.

Le célèbre Festival International de Louisiane qui se tient annuellement à Lafayette depuis 34 ans à la fin avril a été présenté virtuellement cette année du 24 au 26 avril. Visionnez le dernier jour du festival ici.

Le confinement nécessaire à enrayer la propagation de la COVID-19 stimule des projets créatifs sur les réseaux sociaux, qui constituent non seulement une plateforme pour rester en contact avec les proches de langue française, mais proposent maintenant des outils éducatifs pour les personnes vivant en quarantaine. Des cours de français sont offerts sur Instagram Live par une professeure de Beau Chene High School à Arnaudville. Plusieurs Louisianais profitent de cette quarantaine pour apprendre, ou réapprendre, le français cajun. En 1970, plus d’un million de louisianais parlaient français et ne sont plus que 100 000 locuteurs aujourd’hui.

Dans les Amériques

Le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques a initié des Concerts francophones 100 % Franco-Amérique en direct dont le tout récent présentait D’une Amérique à l’autre avec l’auteur avec Alexandre Belliard, compositeur- interprète québécois. Il a partagé avec passion et originalité ses créations de Légendes d’un peuple intégrant culture et patrimoine francophone des Amériques.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances