Retour à la liste des nouvelles

Nouvelles

Summary Report - 3rd Rendez-vous of the Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique in Moncton, August 15–17, 2019

September 6, 2019


Photo credit: Louis-Philippe Chiasson

Opening of the 3rd Rendez-vous of the Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique.

From left to right: Robert Melanson, Delegate for Lafayette’s Mayor-President; Dawn Arnold, Mayor of Moncton; Éric Marquis, Centre de la francophonie des Amériques board member; William Harold Nungesser, Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana; the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Canada’s Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie; the Honourable Dominic Cardy, New Brunswick’s Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development; Nathalie Roy, Québec’s Minister of Culture and Communications and Minister Responsible for the French Language; Régis Labeaume, Mayor of Québec City.

The 3rd Rendez-vous of the Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique (Francophone and Francophile Cities Network) took place from August 15 to 17 in Moncton, New Brunswick, with the theme Recognizing our Francophone and Francophile communities. The Rendez-vous was co-organized by host city and Network founder the City of Moncton and Network operator Centre de la francophonie des Amériques. It was attended by 200 delegates from the Americas, including representatives from some forty cities and towns and numerous partners.

Quotes


“It’s inspiring to see so many cities rally around the Network. We’re also delighted that local organizations and communities are showing interest and getting involved. It’s creating a synergy that bodes well for the future of the Network and La Francophonie in the Americas. The Network’s strength lies precisely in its ability to connect cities and communities in a way that fosters greater harmony among all residents.

On behalf of the Centre, I'd like to thank Moncton Mayor Dawn Arnold and her team for hosting the Rendez-vous and playing an active role in planning the event, with its invaluable opportunities for learning and networking.”


Johanne Whittom
President and CEO


“This third Francophone and Francophile Cities Network Rendez-vous was held in Canada’s only officially bilingual city during the Congrès mondial acadien 2019. The Rendez-vous highlighted the challenges and opportunities La Francophonie presents for tourist, economic, and sociocultural development in the Americas. The participants are no doubt leaving Moncton with a newfound awareness of, and appreciation for, Atlantic Canada’s French heritage, culture, and language. They’re also leaving with practical tools for launching projects and initiatives that will promote La Francophonie where they live, which is very rewarding for us.”

Dawn Arnold
Mayor of Moncton


Key developments

  • The Network’s progress report for the past year showed that the Network now has 155 member cities and towns and numerous Network projects and partnerships currently in the design or development phase that aim to promote French history, heritage, and culture in the Americas, including a number of tourist routes.
  • The 2019–2022 strategic plan was presented to the Network’s members and partners and is now available online; Centre de la francophonie des Amériques has made a firm commitment to implement it and to continue providing member cities and towns with the necessary support for developing tourist routes throughout the Americas.
  • Lectures and workshops gave participants the chance to reflect on the role of the French language in the Americas—a language with a long and storied history on the continent and the power to bring people together. These sessions also provided participants with new tools for developing tourist routes, with a special emphasis on history, culture, the economy, and youth—four key pillars of the Network’s strategic approach.
  • LOJIQ (Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec), OFQJ (Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse), BIJ (Bureau International Jeunesse), and Centre de la francophonie des Amériques announced that they are extending the program for work internships with Network cities and the partner organizations in those cities.
  • Fondation pour la langue française awarded two Fonds Langelier bursaries for the development of two Network tourist routes: the tourist route on the life and times of Louis Riel being developed by Entreprises Riel in Manitoba, and a tourist route project led by Association francophone des municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick.
Interim working meeting in 2020
The next interim working meeting will be held in Winnipeg as the province of Manitoba celebrates its 150th anniversary. Mathieu Allard, a Winnipeg municipal councillor, was on hand to invite members and partners to attend.

Highlights

Many thanks to our partners


Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des nouvelles

Nouvelles

Bilan - 3e Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique à Moncton du 15 au 17 août 2019

6 septembre 2019


Crédit : Louis-Philippe Chiasson

Ouverture du 3e Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique. De gauche à droite : Robert Melanson, délégué du maire-président de Lafayette, Dawn Arnold, mairesse de Moncton, Éric Marquis, administrateur du Conseil d’administration du Centre de la francophonie des Amériques, William Harold Nungesser, lieutenant-gouverneur de la Louisiane, honorable Mélanie Joly, ministre fédérale du Tourisme et des Langues officielles, honorable Dominic Cardy, ministre de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance du Nouveau-Brunswick, Nathalie Roy, ministre de la Culture et des Communications et ministre responsable de la Langue française du Québec, Régis Labeaume, maire de Québec.

Québec, le 27 août 2019 - C’est sous le thème La francophonie et la francophilie au cœur de nos collectivités que le 3e Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique s’est tenu du 15 au 17 août à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick). Organisé conjointement par la Ville de Moncton, ville hôte et fondatrice du Réseau, et le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques, opérateur du Réseau, le Rendez-vous a accueilli 200 délégués en provenance des Amériques, dont des représentants d’une quarantaine de villes et de nombreux partenaires.

Citations


« C’est inspirant de voir autant de villes se rallier au Réseau. Nous sommes tout aussi ravis de voir l’intérêt et l’implication des organisations et communautés locales. Cette synergie est fort prometteuse pour l’avenir du Réseau et de la francophonie en Amérique. La force de ce Réseau est justement sa capacité d’association entre villes et communautés pour assurer à tous nos concitoyens un meilleur vivre ensemble.

Au nom du Centre, je tiens à remercier la mairesse de Moncton, Dawn Arnold, et son équipe pour leur accueil et leur implication active dans l’organisation de ce 3e Rendez-vous qui fut riche en apprentissages et en réseautage! »


Johanne Whittom
Présidente-directrice générale


« Ce 3e Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique, qui a eu lieu dans la seule ville officiellement bilingue au Canada et en plein cœur du Congrès mondial acadien 2019, a mis pleins feux sur les enjeux et les possibilités touristiques, économiques, socioculturelles de la francophonie sur le territoire de l’Amérique. Les participants quittent sans doute Moncton avec une prise de conscience et une nouvelle appréciation pour le patrimoine, la culture et la langue françaises du Canada atlantique, ainsi qu’avec des outils tangibles en main permettant ainsi la mise sur pied de projets et d’initiatives qui visent à faire rayonner la francophonie partout dans notre région, et nous en sommes ravis. »

Dawn Arnold
Mairesse de Moncton


Des moments forts

  • La présentation du bilan de la dernière année du Réseau a permis de constater que 155 villes sont désormais membres du Réseau et que de nombreux projets et collaborations, dont plusieurs parcours touristiques visant à faire rayonner l’histoire, le patrimoine et la culture francophones des Amériques, sont à l’étape de conception ou de développement dans le cadre du Réseau;
  • Le plan stratégique 2019-2022 a été présenté aux membres et partenaires présents et est désormais disponible en ligne; le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques s’est engagé à le mettre en œuvre et à poursuivre le travail d’accompagnement nécessaire aux villes membres afin de permettre aux parcours touristiques de se déployer partout en Amérique;
  • Les conférences et ateliers présentés ont permis de réfléchir à la place qu’occupe la langue française en Amérique, une langue porteuse ayant une longue histoire sur ce continent et contribuant au rapprochement, et d’outiller les participants sur le développement de parcours touristiques, avec un regard attentif sur l’histoire, la culture, l’économie et la jeunesse, autant d’axes privilégiés par le Réseau;
  • Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ), l’Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse (OFQJ), le Bureau International Jeunesse (BIJ) et le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques ont annoncé la reconduction du programme de stages professionnels en milieu de travail au sein des villes membres du Réseau et des organismes partenaires situés sur leur territoire;
  • La Fondation pour la langue française a remis deux bourses du Fonds Langelier pour soutenir le développement de deux parcours touristiques dans le cadre du Réseau, soit le parcours touristique sur le patrimoine de Louis Riel, mené par Entreprises Riel au Manitoba, et un projet de parcours touristiques, mené par l’Association francophone des municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Faits saillants

Merci à nos partenaires


Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances