Back to Program

An Economic Potential Worth Discovering, Recognizing and Exploiting


Éthel Côté, President, Alliance économique francophone

What do we mean by economic development and the direct correlation between it and the French-speaking community? How can we help revitalize French culture through economic development? What is the potential impact of the Francophone and Francophile Cities Network on language and French cultural identity with respect to economic factors?

The mission of the Alliance économique francophone is to promote an inclusive Francophone economic space. In our view, a Francophone company is one that is owned and/or managed by Francophiles (admirers of all things French), values the use of the French language in business, offers products and services to all citizens at the local, regional, national or international level, and contributes not only to the economic, but also to the cultural development of its community.

Research shows that sharing the same language cements collaboration. This can be seen in various sectors (one being tourism) as attracting investment, employing francophones, creating new businesses and growing existing ones, francophone economic immigration, and community development. This participatory workshop will highlight best practices and experiences that make a difference.

Tourism is a community development process that can significantly impact the sense of pride of Francophones and Francophiles, depending on the end result on the community’s economic and cultural vitality. Together, let us envisage the Francophone and Francophile Cities Network as a vital force that revitalizes, supports the development of, and expands the Francophone and Francophile communities of the Americas.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances

Retour à la programmation

La généalogie : vecteur de développement touristique


Éthel Côté, présidente de l’Alliance économique francophone

Qu’entend-on par développement économique et son lien direct avec la francophonie? Comment contribuer à dynamiser une francophonie par le développement économique? Quel est le potentiel des retombées sur la langue, la culture et l’identité francophones du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique en fonction du volet économique?

L’Alliance économique francophone a pour mission de mettre en valeur un espace économique francophone inclusif. À son avis, une entreprise francophone appartient à des francophiles (amoureux de la francophonie) et/ou est dirigée par eux, elle valorise l’usage de la langue française en affaires, offre des produits et des services à l’ensemble des citoyennes et citoyens à l’échelle locale, régionale, nationale ou internationale et contribue à l’essor de son milieu non seulement sur le plan économique mais aussi sur le plan culturel.

Certaines recherches prouvent que le partage d’une même langue cimente les collaborations et cela se constate dans divers secteurs d’activités dont le tourisme, par l’attraction d’investissements, l’employabilité des francophones, la création de nouvelles entreprises et la croissance des entreprises existantes, l’immigration économique des francophones et le développement des communautés. Cet atelier participatif présentera des pratiques exemplaires et des expériences qui apportent une réelle contribution. 

Le tourisme est un moyen de développement des communautés qui peut avoir des impacts importants sur le sentiment de fierté des francophones et francophiles en fonction des résultats sur la vitalité économique et culturelle d’un lieu. Ensemble, imaginons le Réseau comme une force vive qui revitalise, soutient le développement et fait croître les communautés francophones et la francophilie d’Amérique.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances