Événements

Siezing the Day! Meeting the Challenges of Francophone Tourism in relation to the Health Crisis

Video coming soon!

To mark its 5th anniversary, The Francophone and Francophile Cities Network is pleased to propose you to watch the free virtual panel discussion that has occurred on November 9th 2020. Organised by the Centre de la francophonie des Amériques and bringing together renowned experts, this panel discusses the current issues and challenges facing francophone tourism. Watch the panel and discover the opportunity the health crisis can represent for francophone tourism to distinguish itself and stand out from the crowd.

Note: Event is in French with simultaneous English translation

Conference Summary
The current health crisis is having a major impact on tourism, and this will likely be the case for years to come. However, for francophone tourism, it also represents an opportunity. Thanks to its unique cultural character and destination proximity, francophone tourism is an interesting alternative to mainstream, mass tourism. Nonetheless, industry stakeholders face several challenges to be able to seize this opportunity. Through presentations of various experiences and panelist discussions, we explore these challenges as well as the solutions that will allow francophone tourism to thrive.

Mohamed Reda Khomsi
École des sciences de la gestion (ESG UQAM), Montréal (Québec)

Mohamed Reda Khomsi holds a doctorate in urban studies and a master’s degree in tourism planning and management from the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), as well as a graduate diploma in services marketing from the Université La Rochelle, in France. Mr. Khomsi is currently Director of graduate studies in tourism, and Professor/Researcher in the department of urban studies and tourism at the École des sciences de la gestion de l’UQAM. The courses he teaches focus on destination governance, tourism event management, the link between culture and tourism, as well as the use of technologies to enhance the tourist experience. In addition, Mr. Khomsi is co-editor-in-chief of the tourism industry research magazine Téoros and, since 2015, as a member of Groupe de recherche et d’intervention en tourisme territoire et société (GRITTS), he has been leading a research program on Quebec’s attractions and events.

François Bédard
World Centre of Excellence for Destinations (CED), Montréal (Québec)

François Bédard has over 40 years’ experience in the tourism industry, as an academic, executive, and international consultant. Dr. Bédard is currently Director of the World Centre of Excellence for Destinations (CED), a position he has held since the centre was created in 2007 with the support of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO). Dr. Bédard is also an Associate Professor in the department of urban studies and tourism at the École des sciences de la gestion de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (ESG UQAM). His areas of expertise include destination management, tourist enterprise management as well new technologies for the service industry.

Joseph Dunn
Louisiana Perspectives, New Orleans (Louisiana)

Descended from French colonists who arrived in New Orleans in the mid-18th century, Joseph Dunn has worked in the cultural tourism industry for more than 20 years. His ideas and perspectives are constantly evolving, not unlike the complex identities of other Louisianians of Francophone descent. He is particularly interested in projects that focus on the social, professional and economic valorisation of Louisiana French and/ or Creole speakers of all ages. Joseph dreams of the creation of a franco-créo ecosystem linking educational efforts at all levels to the job market.

David Guimont
Living Lab en innovation ouverte (LLio), Rivière-du-Loup (Québec)

David Guimont is Co-Coordinator and Facilitator/Researcher at Living Lab in open innovation (LLio) at the Cégep de Rivière-du-Loup (Québec), a role he has held since 2013. His core expertise conducting research in open innovation is put to excellent use at LLio, a college research centre specialized in this field. LLio’s mission is to facilitate the adoption and transfer of open innovation practices, particularly those involving end users. Mr. Guimont also acts as Project Manager for LLio’s research mandates, planning and leading Living Lab projects and Design Thinking endeavors. He is also an active member of the European Network of Living Labs (ENoLL) and Francophonie Living Labs. In addition, Mr. Guimont develops and teaches courses in facilitation, collaborative innovation, and Design Thinking.

Amélie Lajoie
École des sciences de la gestion (ESG UQAM), Montréal (Québec)

For over 15 years, Amélie Lajoie has worked as a Human Resources Manager in the high-tech sector. In addition to her bachelor’s degree in human resources management from ESG UQÀM, Amélie also holds a diploma in tourism from ITHQ. Going back to her original passion, she is currently pursuing her master’s degree in tourism development and is a Research Associate at the Groupe de recherche et d’intervention en tourisme territoire et société (GRITTS). Her research focuses mainly on enhancing the value of identity tourism of Canadian francophone minorities.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances

Événements

Saisir le moment! Relever les défis du tourisme francophone face à la crise sanitaire

Le Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique est heureux de vous proposer ce panel en rediffusion pour souligner son 5e anniversaire. Organisé par le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques, ce panel expose les enjeux actuels du tourisme francophone en présence de panélistes d’une grande renommée. Assistez à l’échange, ayant eu lieu le 9 novembre dernier, qui met de l’avant l'opportunité qu'a le tourisme francophone de se démarquer dans le contexte de la crise sanitaire.

Résumé de la conférence :
La crise sanitaire que nous traversons actuellement a des répercussions importantes sur la pratique touristique, et ce pour plusieurs années. Pour le tourisme francophone, il y a une opportunité à saisir dans la mesure où il représente une alternative intéressante au tourisme de masse du fait de sa proximité et de son caractère distinctif. Néanmoins, les acteurs du tourisme francophone doivent relever plusieurs enjeux pour pouvoir saisir le moment. À ce titre, et à travers l’exposé de plusieurs expériences et témoignages de différents panélistes, nous explorerons ensemble les défis et solutions pour l’épanouissement du tourisme francophone.

Mohamed Reda Khomsi
École des sciences de la gestion (ESG UQAM), Montréal (Québec)

Mohamed Reda Khomsi est titulaire d’un doctorat en études urbaines, d’une maitrise en gestion et planification du tourisme de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et d’un DESS en marketing de services de l’Université La Rochelle. Il est actuellement directeur des cycles supérieurs en tourisme et professeur chercheur au département d’études urbaines et touristiques à l’École des sciences de la gestion de l’UQAM où il enseigne la gouvernance des destinations, la gestion des événements touristiques, le lien entre la culture et le tourisme et l’usage des technologies pour la mise en valeur de l’expérience touristique. Il est en même temps corédacteur en chef de la revue de recherche en tourisme Téoros et membre du Groupe de recherche et d’intervention en tourisme territoire et société (GRITTS) où il dirige depuis 2015 un programme de recherche sur les attractions et événements au Québec.

François Bédard
Centre d’excellence des destinations (CED), Montréal (Québec)

François Bédard compte plus d’une quarantaine d’années d’expérience en tourisme comme universitaire, gestionnaire et consultant international. Il assume la direction du Centre d’excellence des destinations (CED) depuis sa création en 2007 avec le concours de l’Organisation mondiale du tourisme (OMT). Dr Bédard est professeur associé au département d’études urbaines et touristiques et l’École des sciences de la gestion de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses domaines d’expertise sont la gestion des destinations et des entreprises touristiques ainsi que l’adaptation aux nouvelles technologies dans les services.

Joseph Dunn
Louisiana Perspectives, Nouvelles-Orléans (Louisiane)

Descendant de colons français arrivés à La Nouvelle-Orléans au milieu du 18e siècle, Joseph Dunn travaille dans le domaine touristico-culturel depuis plus de 20 ans. Ses idées et perspectives sont en constante évolution, tout comme les complexités identitaires de ses concitoyens franco-louisianais. Il s'intéresse particulièrement à des projets misant sur la valorisation sociale, professionnelle et économique des Louisianais francophones et/ou créolophones de tous âges. Joseph rêve de la création d'un écosystème franco-créolophone en Louisiane, reliant les efforts éducatifs à tous les niveaux au marché de l'emploi. 

David Guimont
Living Lab en innovation ouverte (LLio), Rivière-du-Loup (Québec)

David Guimont est co-coordonnateur et facilitateur-chercheur au Living Lab en innovation ouverte (LLio) depuis 2013. Il a une expertise en recherche en innovation ouverte qu’il met en pratique dans le cadre du LLio, le Centre collégial de transfert en innovation ouverte du Cégep de Rivière-du-Loup (Québec). La mission du LLio est de faciliter l’adoption de pratiques d’innovation ouverte (IO), principalement celles impliquant les usagers. Il est chargé de projet pour les mandats de recherche du LLio, notamment en planifiant et co-pilotant des projets Living Labs et des démarches de Design Thinking. Il est impliqué au sein de l’European Network of Living Labs (ENoLL) et de Francophonie Living Labs. Il développe et offre les formations en facilitation, en innovation collaborative et en Design Thinking. 

Amélie Lajoie
École des sciences de la gestion (ESG UQAM), Montréal (Québec)

Amélie Lajoie a travaillé pendant plus de 15 ans en tant que gestionnaire des ressources humaines dans le domaine des technologies. En plus d'un baccalauréat en gestion des ressources humaines de l'UQÀM, Amélie détient également un diplôme en Tourisme de l'ITHQ. De retour à ses passions initiales, elle est actuellement candidate à la maitrise en développement du tourisme et chercheuse associée au GRITTS. Ses intérêts de recherches portent principalement sur la mise en valeur du tourisme identitaire des minorités francophones canadiennes.

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances