Events

2019 Conference (Moncton)

August 15 to 17, 2019
Francophone and Francophile Cities Network

Close to 200 people came out to the Rendez-vous of Francophone and Francophile Cities Network in Moncton. Moncton is one of the network’s three founding cities and welcomed members and partners in the bosom of Acadie with the Acadian World Congress 2019 in full swing. Rendez-vous was jointly organized by the City of Moncton and network host institution Centre de la francophonie des Amériques, and representatives of some forty cities and numerous partners were on hand for the proceedings.

Special thanks to mayor Dawn Arnold for the warm welcome and congratulations to all the organizers and partners who contributed to the success of the event.

To consult the program

programmation

See videos of presentations, discussion panels, workshops and lunch & Learn

Opening address - Francophonie in New-Brunswick

Herménégilde Chiasson, Brian Murphy and Sue Duguay

Panel discussion – Right fiers : creating dynamic municipalities that promote youth development and retention

Yasser Al Asmi, Sandrine Croteau and William McGrew

Lunch & learn – Telling the stories of the land

Antonine Maillet

Presentation – Municipalism as a platform for local experimentation and international solidarity

Jonathan Durand Folco

Panel discussion – Celebrating the francophonie at the heart of a municipality

Magalie Bergeron, Darrel Nadeau and Laurent Saulnier

Presentation – Imagining the land’s potential

Geneviève Dorval-Douville and Jean-François Gingras

Workshop – Developing francophonie-based tourism

Roukya Abdi Aden and Élise Bégin

Panel discussion – Telling the stories of our cities’francophone heritage

Joseph Dunn, Normand Gousseau and Sébastien Roy

Achievements

  • The Network’s progress report for the past year showed that the Network now has 155 member cities and towns and numerous Network projects and partnerships currently in the design or development phase that aim to promote French history, heritage, and culture in the Americas, including a number of tourist routes.

  • The 2019–2022 strategic plan was presented to the Network’s members and partners and is now available online; Centre de la francophonie des Amériques has made a firm commitment to implement it and to continue providing member cities and towns with the necessary support for developing tourist routes throughout the Americas.

  • Lectures and workshops gave participants the chance to reflect on the role of the French language in the Americas—a language with a long and storied history on the continent and the power to bring people together. These sessions also provided participants with new tools for developing tourist routes, with a special emphasis on history, culture, the economy, and youth—four key pillars of the Network’s strategic approach.

  • LOJIQ (Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec), OFQJ (Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse), BIJ (Bureau International Jeunesse), and Centre de la francophonie des Amériques announced that they are extending the program for work internships with Network cities and the partner organizations in those cities.

  • Fondation pour la langue française awarded two Fonds Langelier bursaries for the development of two Network tourist routes: the tourist route on the life and times of Louis Riel being developed by Entreprises Riel in Manitoba, and a tourist route project led by Association francophone des municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick.

  • Rendez-vous also provided the opportunity for partners who are starting on or have launched a tourist route to promote development of the Francophonie to hold a work session alongside the main programming. Participants discussed their experiences and the expertise they had acquired as well as the challenges they faced and the role of FFCN in developing these kinds of projects. In attendance were Winnipeg’s Entreprises Riel, Société économique de l’Ontario, New-Brunswick’s Association Francophone des Municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick, Nova Scotia’s Conseil de Développement Économique de la Nouvelle-Écosse, and New England’s Museum L-A in Lewiston–Auburn.

Press Releases

August 9th, 2019
RVFFA 2019 conference broadcast online

August 16th, 2019
Request for proposals: Internships 2020 - Internships in RVFFA member cities and partner organizations located on their territory

August 27th, 2019
Summary Report - 3rd Rendez-vous of the Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique in Moncton

Consult our press review about Rendez-vous 2019 in Moncton

Photo album

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances

Événements

Rendez-vous 2019 (Moncton)

15 au 17 août 2019
La francophonie et la francophilie au cœur de nos collectivités

Près de 200 personnes se sont réunies à Moncton pour ce Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique. Moncton, l’une des trois villes fondatrices du Réseau, recevait membres et partenaires en plein cœur de l’Acadie et en parallèle du Congrès mondial acadien 2019. Organisé conjointement par la Ville de Moncton et le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques, opérateur du Réseau, le Rendez-vous a accueilli des représentants d’une quarantaine de villes et de nombreux partenaires.

Merci à la mairesse Dawn Arnold de son accueil et félicitations à tous les organisateurs et partenaires pour leur contribution à la réussite de cet évènement.

Pour consulter la programmation

programmation

Voir les captations des conférences, tables rondes, ateliers et dîners-causerie

Conférence d’ouverture - La francophonie au Nouveau-Brunswick

Herménégilde Chiasson, Brian Murphy et Sue Duguay

Table ronde – Right fiers : créer des municipalités dynamiques qui favorisent l’épanouissement et la rétention des jeunes

Yasser Al Asmi, Sandrine Croteau et William McGrew

Dîner causerie – Raconter l’histoire du territoire

Antonine Maillet

Conférence – Le municipalisme comme tremplin d’expérimentations locales et de solidarité internationale

Jonathan Durand Folco

Table ronde – Célébrer la francophonie au cœur d’une municipalité

Magalie Bergeron, Darrel Nadeau et Laurent Saulnier

Conférence – Rêver le territoire

Geneviève Dorval-Douville et Jean-François Gingras

Atelier – Le développement touristique de la francophonie

Roukya Abdi Aden et Élise Bégin

Table ronde – Raconter le patrimoine francophone de nos villes

Joseph Dunn, Normand Gousseau et Sébastien Roy

Dîner-causerie – Les accents acadiens

Antoine Landry

Réalisations

  • La présentation du bilan de la dernière année du Réseau a permis de constater que 155 villes sont désormais membres du Réseau et que de nombreux projets et collaborations, dont plusieurs parcours touristiques visant à faire rayonner l’histoire, le patrimoine et la culture francophones des Amériques, sont à l’étape de conception ou de développement dans le cadre du Réseau;

  • Le plan stratégique 2019-2022 a été présenté aux membres et partenaires présents et est désormais disponible en ligne; le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques s’est engagé à le mettre en œuvre et à poursuivre le travail d’accompagnement nécessaire aux villes membres afin de permettre aux parcours touristiques de se déployer partout en Amérique;

  • Les conférences et ateliers présentés ont permis de réfléchir à la place qu’occupe la langue française en Amérique, une langue porteuse ayant une longue histoire sur ce continent et contribuant au rapprochement, et d’outiller les participants sur le développement de parcours touristiques, avec un regard attentif sur l’histoire, la culture, l’économie et la jeunesse, autant d’axes privilégiés par le Réseau;

  • Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ), l’Office franco-québécois pour la jeunesse (OFQJ), le Bureau International Jeunesse (BIJ) et le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques ont annoncé la reconduction du programme de stages professionnels en milieu de travail au sein des villes membres du Réseau et des organismes partenaires situés sur leur territoire;

  • La Fondation pour la langue française a remis deux bourses du Fonds Langelier pour soutenir le développement de deux parcours touristiques dans le cadre du Réseau, soit le parcours touristique sur le patrimoine de Louis Riel, mené par Entreprises Riel au Manitoba, et un projet de parcours touristiques, mené par l’Association francophone des municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick.

  • Le Rendez-vous a aussi été l’occasion d’organiser, en marge de sa programmation, une rencontre de travail entre les partenaires qui entament ou ont mis en œuvre un projet de parcours touristique pour le développement de la francophonie. Cette rencontre a permis d’échanger sur les expériences et expertises développées, sur les défis rencontrés ainsi que sur le rôle du RVFFA dans le développement de ces projets touristiques. Les organismes suivant étaient présents à cette rencontre: Entreprise Riel (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Société économique de l’Ontario (Ontario), Association Francophone des Municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick (Nouveau-Brunswick), Conseil de Développement Économique de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Nouvelle-Écosse), Museum LA de Lewiston-Auburn (Nouvelle-Angleterre)

Communiqués de presse

9 août 2019
Assistez au Rendez-vous en ligne!

16 août 2019
Appel d’offres de stages 2020 - Stages au sein des villes membres du RVFFA et des organismes partenaires situés sur leur

27 août 2019
Bilan - 3e Rendez-vous du Réseau des villes francophones et francophiles d’Amérique à Moncton

Consulter notre revue de presse à propos du Rendez-vous 2019 à Moncton

Album photo

Partagez cette nouvelle avec vos connaissances