Back to the chronicles index

French Chronicles

Pont Breaux’s Acadian/Cajun1 Heroine

January 26, 2017

For the past 20 years a bronze statue takes pride of place in the middle of a park in Breaux Bridge, a small Louisiana town on the banks of Bayou Teche in the heart of Cajun country. It commemorates Scholastique Picou Breaux, the Acadian woman who, in 1829, drew up the first plan for the Village of Breaux Bridge (Plan de la Ville Du Pont des Breaux) on her property and sold lots to the settlers. In so doing, she founded the city of Breaux Bridge. Scholastique was 33. Already the mother of five children, she had been widowed the previous year.


Photo : http://breauxbridgela.net/project/scholastique-p-breaux
The bronze statue of Scholastique Picou Breaux, Town of Breaux Bridge

The striking feature of this statue, commissioned by a diverse group of women from across the city, is the powerful symbolism it portrays. Scholastique Picou Breaux, founder of the city, does not embody the suffering of the Acadians in exile, but the unwavering determination and indomitable courage of the Acadians of Louisiana. However the omnipresence of her Acadian roots displayed here tends to downplay the cultural mix from which the Cajuns sprang.

And yet Scholastique also epitomizes all the inherently multicultural elements of French-speaking Louisiana. French Creole on her father's side, Acadian on her mother's and by allegiance, she conveys wonderfully the troubled collective memory of the first settlers of Louisiana. This is why:

We begin with Scholastique's father’s family. Originally from Brest (Brittany), they took advantage of the one wave of migration to Louisiana during the French regime of 1717-1720. The Compagnie des Indes (originally the Mississippi Company), set up by Scottish financier John Law, had exclusive trading privileges in the colony and turned Louisiana into a colony of settlers and slave plantations. Extensive colonisation took place on the banks of the Mississippi around New Orleans, with most further expansion taking place upriver in the Mississippi valley. Everything should have gone according to plan, but in reality, because of the company's incompetence and lack of foresight, this period of migration was a tragic  one.

It is estimated that, of the 6,000 civilians who left as emigrants, only 40% survived the transatlantic journey, and in particular, the deplorable conditions awaiting them on the desolate and barren coast of the Gulf of Mexico. In June 1720, Scholastique's paternal great-grandfather, then aged 13, embarked with his family at La Rochelle. They were more fortunate here than many others. But then he had to have a strong constitution to adapt to the climate and a new diet, and to fight off both endemic diseases and hostile Indians. Aboard this same ship was Jacques Cantrelle, a 23 year old French immigrant born in Picardy, who was later closely related to the Picou family. If this man is of such interest here it is because later on, he was behind the merger of the two branches of Scholastique's family. Above all however, he was the benefactor of the first Acadians in Louisiana, when French authorities were still in charge of the colony.

In 1764, Jacques Cantrelle was already an established planter and most importantly, an administrator on the New Orleans Superior Council. He was charged with helping the very first Acadian refugees to return from captivity to settle, close to land he was in the process of acquiring His plantation, named "Cabanocée" (after the Indian name for a nearby creek), lay on the west bank of the Mississippi River, upstream from already colonized river lots (today’s St. James Parish). Two years later, Acadian settlers were so numerous in this region that it began to be called the "Acadian Coast". Among them were Scholastique's maternal grandparents, but they had first to go through an unfortunate period, one of the longest in the long wandering of the Acadians in exile.


Photo : http://photos.historical-markers.org/Louisiana/St-01
Historical Markers Louisiana, St. James Parish

In early 1765, the first large group of Acadian refugees (over 200) arrived in Louisiana. Their leader was Joseph Broussard, the hero of the Acadian resistance. They came from detention camps in Halifax (Nova Scotia) and had stayed for a short time on the island of Saint-Domingue (today's Haiti). They were given permission to settle along Bayou Teche in Fausse Pointe (currently Iberia Parish). A few months later, an epidemic (yellow fever or malaria) forced most of them to leave. One group elected to join the community of Cabanocée, where Scholastique's maternal grandparents were living, while others chose to settle at other sites in the region.


Photo : https://lakefaussepointesp.wordpress.com/cabins/
Lake Fausse Pointe State Park

What was the Picou family doing during this time? It was not until the 1780s that Scholastique's father also joined the Cabanocée community, at that time under the administration of the Spanish authorities. Was he trying to join his sister, who was married to one of Cantrelle's sons, who was himself a brother of the district commander? How did this Acadian enclave of subsistence farmers know how to manage their coexistence with the Creole planter families? And in particular, how were they able to demonstrate their cultural flexibility (ability to interact with different types of people)? There is no question that at her birth in July 1796 Scholastique Picou already carried within her the mingled culture of Cabanocée, Cajun culture.

Scholastique married very young and lived along Bayou Teche, on the site of the present-day city of Breaux Bridge (St. Martin Parish). The lucky man was Agricole Breaux. The son of an Acadian, he was a landowner and a former companion of Joseph Broussard. Agricole had inherited the property where in 1799 his father had built a suspension footbridge to cross the bayou. People already referred to it as the Breaux Bridge. In 1817, he replaced the footbridge with the first vehicular bridge. Agricole died in 1828, leaving his widow to her fate.


Photo : http://www.bayoutecheexperience.com/kayaks2.html
Bayou Teche

Scholastique Picou Breaux is an iconic figure in Cajun culture. She embodies the collective memory of her Creole and Acadian ancestors who knew how to withstand such difficult living conditions while cherishing the dream of a new life. She was able to resolve her personal financial troubles by undertaking with determination and courage an ambitious communal project. Be sure to look carefully in the small park located on the Main Highway, not far from the last Breaux Bridge, built in 1950.There you'll find the bronze statue of this true heroine of Cajun country.

Jean-Marc Agator

Background material:

  • Scholastique Picou Breaux, founder, Breaux Bridge, History & Culture.
  • Articles in La Francophonie nord-américaine, Atlas historique du Québec, Cécile Vidal (La colonie du Mississippi), Etienne Rivard (Migrations et ethnicité en Louisiane), Sara Le Menestrel et Jacques Henry (Les stratégies identitaires franco-louisianaises), Presses de l’Université Laval, Québec, 2012.
  • Passenger List for French vessel "Le Profond" under the command of Le Germeur, 10 June, 1720, Library and Archives Canada.
  • Dictionary of Louisiana Biography, Louisiana Historical Association.
  • WikiTree (genealogy website).
  • Acadian Communities in Louisiana (website: Acadians in Gray).

1The terms Acadian, Cajun and Creole are often misconstrued. Their meaning is dependent not only on the speaker, but also on place and historical period. Briefly:
Acadian = descendant of the original French settlers of Acadia (today’s Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and part of Maine).
Cajun = descendant of exiled Acadians who settled Acadiana (southern Louisiana). The majority are Catholic and speak/understand Cajun French
Creole = native-born descendant of Louisiana’s original settlers.

About the author

Jean-Marc Agator is a French public research engineer in the field of new energy technologies. He is passionate about the history of Canada and of francophone communities throughout North America in all of their cultural diversity. He is the author of the website Chemins de la francophonie where he shares his passion through articles destined to a large francophone audience.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des chroniques

Chroniques francophones

L'héroïne cadienne de Pont-Breaux

26 janvier 2017

Une statue de bronze trône fièrement depuis 20 ans au milieu d'un parc de Pont-Breaux, une petite ville de Louisiane établie sur les bords du bayou Teche, au cœur du pays cadien. Elle célèbre l'Acadienne Scholastique Picou Breaux qui, en 1829, dressa le premier Plan de la Ville Du Pont des Breaux sur sa propriété et en vendit des lots aux colons, fondant ainsi la ville de Pont-Breaux. Scholastique avait 33 ans, était veuve depuis un an et déjà mère de cinq enfants.


Photo : http://breauxbridgela.net/project/scholastique-p-breaux
Statue de bronze de Scholastique Picou Breaux, ville de Pont-Breaux

Ce qui frappe dans cette statue, voulue par une communauté de femmes de tous âges et de toutes origines de la ville, c'est la grande force symbolique qu'elle porte. Scholastique Picou Breaux, fondatrice de la ville, n'incarne pas la souffrance endurée par les Acadiens en exil, mais la détermination sans faille et le courage à toute épreuve des Acadiens de Louisiane. Cependant l'omniprésence affichée ici de ses racines acadiennes tend à gommer la mixité culturelle dont sont issus les Cadiens.

Et pourtant, Scholastique est elle aussi un véritable concentré de francophonie louisianaise, par essence multiculturelle. Créole d'origine Française par son père, Acadienne par sa mère et de cœur, elle porte à merveille la mémoire tourmentée des premiers colons de Louisiane. Voici pourquoi...

Commençons par la famille du père de Scholastique. Originaire de Brest (Bretagne), elle profita de la seule vague de migration en Louisiane du régime français, de 1717 à 1720. Le monopole commercial de la colonie avait été accordé à la compagnie des Indes, fondée par le financier écossais John Law, qui transforma la Louisiane en colonie de peuplement et de plantations esclavagistes. La colonisation se faisait de façon intensive sur les bords du Mississippi autour de La Nouvelle-Orléans et plus extensive dans la vallée du Mississippi en amont. Tout aurait pu se dérouler selon les plans prévus, mais en réalité, cet épisode migratoire fut dramatique, à cause de l'incompétence et de l'imprévoyance de la compagnie…

On estime que parmi les 6000 émigrants civils qui partirent, seuls 40% d'entre eux survécurent au voyage transatlantique et surtout aux conditions d'accueil déplorables sur le littoral désolé et inculte du golfe du Mexique. L'arrière-grand-père paternel de Scholastique embarqua en juin 1720 à La Rochelle, à l'âge de 13 ans, avec sa famille. Ils eurent ici plus de chance que beaucoup d'autres. Mais il fallait ensuite être solide pour s'adapter au climat et au nouveau régime alimentaire et résister aux maladies endémiques et aux Indiens hostiles. C'est dans ce même bateau que voyageait Jacques Cantrelle, un migrant français de 23 ans né en Picardie, qui fut ensuite très lié à la famille Picou. Si cet homme a tant d'intérêt ici, c'est qu'il fut bien plus tard à l'origine du rapprochement des deux branches familiales de Scholastique. Il fut surtout le bienfaiteur des premiers Acadiens de Louisiane, alors que les autorités françaises étaient encore responsables de la colonie…    

En 1764, Jacques Cantrelle avait déjà une longue vie de planteur et surtout d'administrateur au conseil supérieur de La Nouvelle-Orléans. Il fut chargé d'aider à s'installer, à proximité d'une terre qu'il venait d'acquérir, les tout premiers réfugiés acadiens de retour de captivité. Sa plantation, qu'il nomma "Cabanocée" (nom indien d'un ruisseau de la région), était située sur la rive ouest du Mississippi, en amont des portions déjà colonisées du fleuve (actuelle paroisse Saint-Jacques). Deux ans plus tard, les colons acadiens étaient si nombreux dans cette région qu'elle commençait à être nommée "côte des Acadiens". Les grands-parents maternels de Scholastique se trouvaient parmi eux, mais ils avaient dû subir au préalable un épisode malheureux, un de plus dans la longue errance des Acadiens en exil…


Photo : http://photos.historical-markers.org/Louisiana/St-01
Site des premiers colons acadiens de Louisiane, paroisse
Saint-Jacques

Au début de 1765, le premier groupe important de réfugiés acadiens (plus de 200) arriva en Louisiane, mené par Joseph Broussard, héros de la résistance acadienne. Ils provenaient des camps de détention à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) et avaient fait un court séjour à l'île de Saint-Domingue (aujourd'hui Haïti). Ils furent autorisés à s'installer le long du bayou Teche, à Fausse Pointe (actuelle paroisse Ibérie). Quelques mois plus tard, une épidémie (fièvre jaune ou paludisme) força le départ de la plupart d'entre eux. Un groupe préféra rejoindre la communauté de Cabanocée, dans lequel se trouvaient les grands-parents maternels de Scholastique, alors que d'autres choisirent de coloniser d'autres sites de la région…


Photo : https://lakefaussepointesp.wordpress.com/cabins/
Lac Fausse Pointe, à l’Est de Loreauville

Que faisait la famille Picou pendant ce temps ? Il fallut attendre les années 1780 pour que le père de Scholastique rejoigne lui aussi la communauté de Cabanocée, alors administrée par les autorités espagnoles. Cherchait-il à rejoindre sa sœur, mariée à un fils de Cantrelle, lui-même frère du commandant du district ? Comment cette enclave acadienne, qui pratiquait une agriculture de subsistance, sut-elle gérer la cohabitation avec les familles de planteurs créoles ? Et surtout comment sut-elle faire la preuve de sa flexibilité culturelle ? Il ne fait ainsi pas de doute qu'à sa naissance, en juillet 1796, Scholastique Picou portait déjà en elle la culture métissée de Cabanocée, la culture cadienne…

Scholastique se maria très jeune et vécut le long du bayou Teche, sur le site de l'actuelle ville de Pont-Breaux (paroisse Saint-Martin). L'heureux élu s'appelait Agricole Breaux, fils d'un Acadien, propriétaire terrien, ancien compagnon de Broussard. Il avait hérité de la propriété où se trouvait la passerelle piétonnière construite en 1799 par son père pour traverser le bayou. On parlait déjà du pont des Breaux. En 1817, il remplaça cette passerelle par le premier pont permettant le passage des véhicules. Il mourut en 1828, laissant sa veuve face à sa destinée...


Photo : http://www.bayoutecheexperience.com/kayaks2.html
Bayou Teche

Scholastique Picou Breaux est un personnage emblématique de la culture cadienne. Elle porte la mémoire de ses ancêtres créoles et acadiens qui ont su résister à des conditions de vie si difficiles tout en portant le rêve d'une nouvelle vie. Elle a su résoudre ses propres difficultés matérielles en assumant avec détermination et courage un projet collectif ambitieux. Regardons bien dans le petit parc situé sur la Main Highway, non loin du dernier pont de Breaux, construit en 1950. C'est là que se trouve la statue de bronze de cette authentique héroïne du pays cadien.

Jean-Marc Agator

Documentation :

  • Scholastique Picou Breaux, founder, Breaux Bridge, History & Culture.
  • La Francophonie nord-américaine, Cécile Vidal (La colonie du Mississippi), Etienne Rivard (Migrations et ethnicité en Louisiane), Sara Le Menestrel et Jacques Henry (Les stratégies identitaires franco-louisianaises), Presses de l’Université Laval, Québec, 2012.
  • Liste des passagers embarqués sur le vaisseau "Le Profond" commandé par Le Germeur, 10 juin 1720, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
  • Dictionary of Louisiana Biography, Louisiana Historical Association.
  • WikiTree (site généalogique).
  • Acadian Communities in Louisiana (site Acadians in Gray).

À propos de l'auteur

Ingénieur français de la recherche publique dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies de l’énergie, Jean-Marc Agator est aussi passionné par l’histoire du Canada et des communautés francophones d’Amérique du nord dans toute leur diversité culturelle. Il est l’auteur du site internet Chemins de la Francophonie où il souhaite faire partager sa passion aux internautes à travers des articles destinés à un large public francophone.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances