Back to the chronicles index

French Chronicles

Cities in Dixie Born Under the French Lily

November 28, 2016

In the great State of Mississippi alone, which is roughly a quarter the size of France, you will find not one but five start-up cities of America with a rich French heritage at their roots. These communities, worthy of promotion on the world scale, are Biloxi (1699), Ocean Springs (1699), Natchez (1714), Pascagoula (1718), and Jackson (1792), Mississippi's state capital and largest city. Here's a brief historical description of their respective beginnings. These proud Mississippian cities are forever bonded by the fact that their journey began under the fleur de lys and the accent of America.

In 1697, Jérôme Phélypeaux de Maurepas, Comte de Pontchartrain and French Secretary of State for the Navy, gave Montreal-born Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville, orders to locate the mouth of the Mississippi River. In late October 1698, Iberville’s team expedition left Brest, France, on five vessels including the frigates Le Marin and La Badine. Upon arrival on February 10, 1699, the fleet anchored at Île aux Vaisseaux, now Ship Island, in front of present-day Biloxi. On February 13, Iberville and 14 men landed on the mainland to meet with the local Biloxi Native Americans. The French were told that "Biloxi" in Siouan language means "First Nation". Gifts were exchanged and the peace calumet was smoked on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches. Biloxi was born.


Photo : Christopher Mardorf / FEMA
The statue of Pierre d'Iberville in Fort Maurepas Park at Ocean Springs

Throughout April 1699, Iberville and his cohorts erected Fort Maurepas nearby at present-day Ocean Springs across Biloxi Bay to defend France's claim to much of what is now the central USA. Sieur de Sauvolle was appointed commandant and first governor of the French territory of Louisiana. The community is Mississippi State's oldest settlement. A bronze statue of Iberville and a concrete outline of the fort remind residents and visitors that Mississippi's first settlers were francophone.


Photo : NPS
The Natchez Trace was the lifeline through the Old South

A priority for France throughout the early 1700s was to establish itself along the Mississippi River. The French then constructed Fort Rosalie in 1716 near present-day Natchez where the soil was most fertile. They neglected, to their detriment, to renew the alliance with the Natchez nation by smoking the peace calumet. Following an interracial conflict, the fort was destroyed in 1729 and rebuilt by the French in 1731. France did send unmarried French women to what would become Dixie as potential wives for single male settlers. These girls became popularly known as “cassette girls” because of the suitcase or cassette that contained the possessions they carried to the colony.


Photo : The Mississippi Press/Susan Ruddiman
The La Pointe House at Pascagoula also called the Old French Fort

The first settlers of present-day Pascagoula were French Canadian Jean-Baptiste Baudreau dit Graveline, Joseph Simon dit La Pointe, born in Pointe-aux-Trembles (Québec), and his aunt, Madame de Chaumont, born Marie Catherine Barré in Flanders. La Pointe built on site a fortified residence around 1721. Over the years, people called it the "Old French Fort". It is today the oldest building in the State of Mississippi and the only surviving French colonial structure. In the adjoining cemetery, many of the tombstones have French inscriptions.


Photo : MS. Dept. of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks
Large state park commemorating LeFleur's Bluff in the heart of Jackson

The city of Jackson was founded by Louis LeFleur, a Louisiana trader of French descent. In 1792, he established a trading post on a promontory along "la rivière aux Perles" - the Pearl River, near "la piste des Natchez" - the Natchez Trace. The settlement rapidly grew into a village known as LeFleur's Bluff. The fast growing community was later chosen as the site for the new state's capital city. Its navigable waterway and nearness to the Natchez Trace connecting Natchez and Nashville (in Tennessee) were determining factors. Subsequently, LeFleur's Bluff was renamed Jackson after Andrew Jackson, who served as the seventh President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Photo : Reggie Dawes
A "Dixie" from the Citizens' Bank of Louisiana

The word Dixie refers to the ten (“dix” in French) dollar note issued by private banks in Louisiana, such as the Citizens Bank of Louisiana, prior to centralized banking. The notes were known as "Dixies" by English-speaking southerners. Eventually, usage of the term broadened to refer to the four core states of America's Old South, namely Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana and Mississippi.

About the author

Jean-Pierre Bernier is a retired executive from the financial sector with a burning passion for America's Francophonie and its fraternity.

A Québec City native, he now lives in Aurora, Ontario.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des chroniques

Chroniques francophones

Villes du Dixie nées dans la francophonie

28 novembre 2016

Dans le seul État du Mississippi, qui est à peu près équivalent à un quart de la taille de la France, vous trouverez non pas une, mais cinq villes débutantes des États-Unis avec un riche patrimoine français à leur démarrage. Ces fières communautés mississippiennes, dignes de promotion à l'échelle mondiale, sont Biloxi (1699), Ocean Springs (1699), Natchez (1714), Pascagoula (1718) et Jackson (1792), la capitale et la plus grande agglomération urbaine. Voici une brève description historique des débuts de chacune. La fleur de lys et l'accent d'Amérique sont pour toujours les liens qui les unissent.

En 1697, Jérôme Phélypeaux de Maurepas, comte de Pontchartrain et secrétaire d'État de la Marine, a donné à Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d'Iberville, natif de Montréal, commandes pour localiser l'embouchure du fleuve Mississippi. À la fin du mois d’octobre 1698, Iberville et son équipe ont quitté Brest, France, sur cinq navires y compris les frégates Le Marin et La Badine. À son arrivée, le 10 février 1699, la flotte s'est ancrée à l'île aux Vaisseaux, maintenant appelée Ship Island, en face de l'actuelle ville de Biloxi. Le 13 février, Iberville et 14 équipiers ont débarqué sur la terre ferme pour rencontrer les Amérindiens Biloxi de l'endroit. Ils ont appris que « Biloxi » en langue sioux signifie « Première nation ». Des cadeaux ont été échangés et le calumet de la paix a été fumé sur l'une des plus belles plages de sable blanc. Biloxi est née.


Photo : Christopher Mardorf / FEMA
La statue de Pierre d'Iberville dans le Parc Fort Maurepas à Ocean Springs

Au cours du mois d’avril 1699, Iberville et ses hommes ont érigé Fort Maurepas à proximité de l'actuelle ville d'Ocean Springs dans la baie de Biloxi pour défendre la prétention de la France à une grande partie de ce qui est aujourd'hui le centre des États-Unis. Monsieur de Sauvolle a été nommé commandant et est devenu le premier gouverneur de la colonie de la Louisiane. La ville est la plus ancienne communauté de l'État du Mississippi. Une statue en bronze d'Iberville et un aperçu en béton du fort rappellent aux résidents et aux visiteurs que les premiers colons du Mississippi étaient francophones.


Photo : NPS
La Piste des Natchez a été le fil de la vie à travers le Vieux Sud

Une priorité pour la France au début des années 1700 était d'occuper le fleuve Mississippi. Les Français ont alors construit Fort Rosalie en 1716 près de l'actuelle ville de Natchez, où le sol était très fertile. Ils ont négligé, à leur propre détriment, de renouveler l'alliance avec la nation Natchez en fumant le calumet de la paix. À la suite d’un conflit interracial, le fort a été détruit en 1729 et reconstruit par les Français en 1731. La France a envoyé des filles à marier comme épouses potentielles pour les colons célibataires au pays, lequel recevra plus tard l'appellation « Dixie ». Ces femmes sont devenues populairement connues sous le nom de « filles au baluchon », en raison de la valise ou du bagage contenant leurs possessions de voyage.


Photo : The Mississippi Press/Susan Ruddiman
La Maison La Pointe à Pascagoula aussi appelée le Vieux Fort français

Les premiers colons de l'actuelle ville de Pascagoula ont été Jean-Baptiste Baudreau dit Graveline, né à Ville-Marie (Montréal), Joseph Simon dit La Pointe, né à Pointe-aux-Trembles (Québec), et sa tante, Madame de Chaumont, née Marie Catherine Barré dans les Flandres. La Pointe y a construit une résidence fortifiée vers 1721. Au fil des ans, les gens l'ont appelé le « vieux fort français ». Elle est aujourd'hui le plus ancien bâtiment dans l'État du Mississippi et la seule structure coloniale française restante. Dans le cimetière attenant, plusieurs pierres tombales portent des inscriptions françaises.


Photo : MS. Dept. of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks
Grand parc urbain rappelant le Promontoire à LeFleur au sein de Jackson

L'actuelle ville de Jackson a été fondée par Louis LeFleur, un commerçant louisianais d'origine française. En 1792, il a établi un poste de traite sur une pointe de terre à relief élevé le long de la rivière aux Perles près de la piste des Natchez. Le lieu est rapidement devenu un village connu sous le nom du Promontoire à LeFleur. La communauté en pleine croissance a ensuite été choisie pour être la capitale du nouvel État de l'union américaine. Sa voie navigable et la proximité de la piste des Natchez reliant Natchez et Nashville (Tennessee) ont été des facteurs déterminants. Par la suite, le Promontoire à LeFleur a été rebaptisé Jackson en l’honneur d’Andrew Jackson, le septième président des États-Unis (1829 à 1837).


Photo : Reggie Dawes
Un « Dixie » de la Banque des Citoyens de la Louisiane

Le mot Dixie réfère aux billets de dix dollars émis par les banques privées dans le territoire de la Louisiane, comme la Banque des Citoyens de la Louisiane, avant la banque centrale des États-Unis. Ces billets de banque étaient appelés « Dixies » par les sudistes anglophones. Finalement, la signification du mot s'est élargie pour désigner les quatre principaux États du « Vieux Sud » de l'Amérique, soit l'Alabama, la Géorgie, la Louisiane et le Mississippi.

À propos de l'auteur

Jean-Pierre Bernier est un cadre retraité du secteur financier avec une passion ardente pour la francophonie en Amérique et sa fraternité.

Natif de la ville de Québec, il habite maintenant à Aurora, Ontario.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances