Back to the chronicles index

French Chronicles

The Unknown Story of Québec's Red Roofs


Red roofs under the blue skies of Tadoussac, Québec.
Photo credit: beauxvillages.qc.ca

August 10, 2016

In Québec, the old red-roofed houses have a history of their own. They have become over time must-see sites. These red roofs stimulate and direct the visual perception embellishing in turn the province's tourist circuits from Percé in the east to the Ottawa River in the west. Today there are hundreds of them. In Old Québec, the red roofs are everywhere. They make us realize the importance of being attentive to our surroundings. Together, they constitute a true national treasure and even a cultural heritage.

These wonders have been portrayed by several artists from here and elsewhere. They have also been photographed by millions of visitors from the four corners of the earth. Their digital images found on websites are devoid of any clarification as to their origin. Moreover, there is no register or listing of these hidden treasures. They must be discovered one by one. Even the travel guide books are devoid of any mention of these red roofs.

What is the history of the red roofs that appear unexpectedly in the streets of Québec City and well beyond its ramparts? Some say that red was intended to imitate the famed terra cotta tiles of Poitou, France. Others argue that red was used for the identification of the New World's prosperous families or upper class merchants. They say further that the sailors relied on the red roofs as landmarks for navigation. According to a legend of the St. Lawrence River Valley, bright red allowed to more easily locate the 'cabins in Canada' during blowing snow.

The most likely version of the story is that of some farmers from the Island of Orleans who explained to me one autumn day that a long time ago the "Canadians", also called the "habitants", wanted to give their house a distinctive character without changing the Normandy architectural design that was highly adapted to the cold climate of the northern landscape. After public consultations, the scarlet red of the isle's strawberries, whose reputation was well established, was chosen by the local peasants to achieve distinction from a faraway mother land. With this simple and inexpensive change, America's Francophones could then be easily recognizable among themselves and from a distance. It is obvious that this way of thinking continues to be displayed with pride across Québec.

About the author

Jean-Pierre Bernier is a retired executive from the financial sector with a burning passion for America's Francophonie and its fraternity.

A Québec City native, he now lives in Aurora, Ontario.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des chroniques

Chroniques francophones

L'histoire inconnue des toits rouges du Québec


Toits rouges sous le ciel bleu de Tadoussac, Québec.
Crédit photo : beauxvillages.qc.ca

10 août 2016

Au Québec, les maisons anciennes aux toits rouges ont une histoire qui leur est propre. Elles sont devenues au fil du temps des incontournables. Ces toits rouges qui stimulent et orientent la perception visuelle embellissent les circuits touristiques de la province de Percé à la rivière des Outaouais. On les compte aujourd'hui par centaines. Dans le Vieux-Québec, les toits rouges sont omniprésents, mais encore faut-il s'en rendre compte, d'où l'importance d'être attentif aux éléments qui nous entourent. Ensemble, ils constituent un véritable trésor national, voire même un patrimoine culturel.

Ces merveilles ont été peintes par plusieurs artistes d'ici et d'ailleurs. Elles ont aussi été photographiées par des millions de visiteurs venus des quatre coins de la terre. Leur image numérique sur les sites Web est dépourvue de toute précision ayant trait à leur origine. En outre, il n'existe aucun répertoire de ces trésors cachés. Il faut les découvrir un à un. Même les guides de voyage sont à court de bienveillance.

Quelle est l'histoire des toits rouges qui apparaissent au gré du hasard dans les rues de Québec et bien au-delà de ses remparts ? Certains racontent que le rouge avait pour objet d'imiter les tuiles en terra cota du Poitou de France. D'autres soutiennent que le rouge servait à l'identification de familles prospères ou de marchands haut placés dans le Nouveau Monde. On dit, en outre, que les marins se fiaient aux toits rouges comme points de repère à la navigation. Selon une légende de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, le rouge vif permettait de repérer facilement les cabanes au Canada dans une poudrerie hivernale.

La version d'histoire la plus vraisemblable est celle de certains producteurs agricoles de l'île d'Orléans qui m'expliquaient un jour d'automne qu'à une époque ancienne les « habitants », aussi appelés les « Canadiens », ont voulu donner à leur maison un caractère distinctif sans pour autant modifier la conception architecturale normande qui était hautement adaptée au climat froid du paysage nordique. Après consultations populaires, le rouge écarlate des fraises de l'île, dont la réputation n'était plus à faire, a été retenu par les gens du pays pour se distinguer d'une mère patrie lointaine. Avec ce changement simple et peu coûteux, les francophones d'Amérique pouvaient alors facilement se reconnaître entre eux et à distance. Force est de constater que cette façon de penser continue à s'afficher avec fierté à travers le Québec.

À propos de l'auteur

Jean-Pierre Bernier est un cadre retraité du secteur financier avec une passion ardente pour la francophonie en Amérique et sa fraternité.

Natif de la ville de Québec, il habite maintenant à Aurora, Ontario.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances