Back to the chronicles index

French Chronicles

The surprising French history of Fort Pierre


Photo credit: South Dakota Tourism

October 14, 2016

The small town of Fort Pierre (2100 inhabitants) lies on the west bank of the Missouri River at the confluence of the Bad River, in South Dakota. The town's beginnings date back to the first third of the 19th century. At that time, the explorers and fur traders noted that this lovely plain, located in Sioux territory bordering the Missouri River, was perfectly suited to the fur trade.

And yes, it really was a French-American fur trader, Pierre Chouteau, Jr., who founded Fort Pierre and started Euro-American settlement there. However, he could not have known that in the 18th century, French-speaking explorers, the very first Europeans, had already stayed in that same place. So what happened? Why did the traces of this French-speaking presence remain undiscovered until a century ago, in 1913? What is this surprising French history of Fort Pierre?

In 1832, Pierre Chouteau Jr. was in charge of operations on the Upper Missouri for the powerful American Fur Company in St. Louis. The company employed several hundred men, mostly French-speaking voyageurs. They were contracted workers (engagés), paddlers and hivernants (voyageurs who lived year-round in the interior). That year, Pierre Chouteau, Jr. had a fortified trading post built about 4 km north of the mouth of the Bad River and he gave it his name. This fort was to replace Fort Tecumseh, built in 1822, which was much closer to the river's mouth, but was threatened by the Missouri River floods.  History tells us that there had been a first fort built near the mouth before, in 1817. However, due to frequent flooding, it was abandoned in 1820.

Fort Pierre Chouteau was an important and strategic trading post for the company. For 25 years it was the main trading post for the Sioux bands in the area (Tetons, Yankton, Yanktonai, Santee ...). By this time buffalo robes had replaced beaver pelts as the main product in the exchanges. The activity of this fort was the real starting point of an ongoing Euro-American colonization in this place where today's city of Fort Pierre took the name of the fort.

Much later, in 1913, on a hill overlooking the city, a group of schoolchildren from Fort Pierre stumbled upon an astonishing object. It had been buried for over a century and a half, and today is one of the most valuable monuments to the history of the American West. What is it? For this we have to go back to the explorations of the French-Canadian Pierre Gaultier de Varennes, and of de la Verendrye and his sons. They were the first known Europeans to open up trade routes northwest of Lake Superior, starting in the 1730s.

In 1742-1743, two of La Verendrye's sons, Louis-Joseph and François, embarked on a historic expedition into the south-west, starting from Fort La Reine (located south of Lake Manitoba), where they met with various Indian nations (Mandan, Crow, Arikara ...).They reached the Black Hills that lie in present-day South Dakota and in March 1743, they stayed in an Arikara village on the banks of the Missouri River, before making their return journey. Unbeknown to the Arikara, Louis-Joseph then buried a lead plate marking their stay. It had a Latin inscription on one side which can be translated as: "In the year 26 of the reign of Louis XV. For the King, our most illustrious lord. By Monsieur the Marquis de Beauharnois, 1741. Placed here by Pierre Gaultier de Laverendrie". The names of the two brothers and those of their two French companions were hastily engraved on the other side.

Were the brothers hoping to return to the site? Unfortunately, they would never see materialize the tremendous business opportunities created by their friendship with these hitherto unknown new Indian nations. The Arikara village was located on the Fort Pierre town site and the lead plate remained buried on a hillside of the site until ... 1913! It is the first written evidence of the European presence in South Dakota.

Today, the city of Fort Pierre is preparing to commemorate the bicentennial of its founding (1817-2017).The La Vérendrye site and the  Fort Pierre Chouteau site, both National Historic Landmarks, are testimony to the city's remarkable French history.

Jean-Marc Agator

Documentation:

  • Gilles Havard, Histoire des coureurs de bois, Amérique du Nord, 1600-1840, p.386 (Carte de l'Ouest des chasseurs, 1ère moitié du 19e siècle), pp.388-391 (Les engagés du haut Missouri), Les Indes savantes, Paris, April 2016.
  • South Dakota State Historical Society, Archaeological Research Center, Research Report n°3, The 1997-2001 Excavations at Fort Pierre Chouteau, volume 2 "Material Culture", pp.267-271 (Historical Background, Fur Trade Society), 2010.
  • Dictionary of Canadian Biography, Louis-Joseph Gaultier de la Vérendrye.
  • Western South Dakota, North American Forts, 1526-1956.

About the author

Jean-Marc Agator is a French public research engineer in the field of new energy technologies. He is passionate about the history of Canada and of francophone communities throughout North America in all of their cultural diversity. He is the author of the website Chemins de la francophonie where he shares his passion through articles destined to a large francophone audience.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances

Retour à la liste des chroniques

Chroniques francophones

L'étonnante histoire francophone de Fort Pierre


Crédit photo : South Dakota Tourism

14 octobre 2016

La petite ville de Fort Pierre (2 100 habitants) est située sur la rive ouest de la rivière Missouri, à la confluence de la rivière Bad, dans le Dakota du Sud. L'origine de la ville remonte au premier tiers du 19e siècle. A cette époque, les explorateurs et les marchands de fourrures avaient constaté que cette charmante plaine, située en territoire sioux en bordure de rivière Missouri, était parfaitement adaptée au commerce des fourrures.

Et c'est bien un marchand de fourrures, un franco-américain, Pierre Chouteau Jr., qui fut à l'origine de Fort Pierre et de la colonisation euro-américaine à cet endroit. Mais il ne pouvait pas savoir qu'au 18e siècle, des explorateurs francophones, les tout premiers Européens, avaient déjà séjourné au même endroit. Que s'est-il passé? Pourquoi la trace de cette présence francophone ne fut-elle découverte qu'il y a un siècle, en 1913? Quelle est cette étonnante histoire francophone de Fort Pierre? 

En 1832, Pierre Chouteau Jr. dirigeait à Saint-Louis les opérations de la puissante American Fur Company dans la haute vallée du Missouri. La compagnie y employait plusieurs centaines d'hommes, en grande majorité des engagés, rameurs et hivernants de langue française. Cette année-là, Pierre Chouteau Jr. fit construire un poste de traite fortifié, auquel il donna son nom, à environ 4 km au nord de l'embouchure de la rivière Bad. Il s'agissait de remplacer le fort Tecumseh, construit en 1822 plus près de l'embouchure, qui était menacé par les inondations du Missouri. L'histoire a retenu qu'un premier fort avait déjà été construit en 1817, près de l'embouchure, mais abandonné en 1820 à cause des fréquentes inondations.

Le fort Pierre Chouteau fut un poste commercial important et stratégique pour la compagnie. Pendant 25 ans, il fut le poste de traite principal pour les bandes sioux de la région (Tetons, Yanktons, Yanktonais, Santees…). La « robe » de bison avait alors remplacé la peau de castor comme produit phare dans les échanges. L'activité de ce fort fut le vrai point de départ d'une colonisation euro-américaine continue à cet endroit où la ville de Fort Pierre emprunta le nom du fort.

Bien plus tard, en 1913, un groupe d'écoliers de Fort Pierre découvre par hasard, sur une colline de la ville, un étonnant objet, enfoui dans le sol depuis plus d'un siècle et demi, qui constitue aujourd'hui l'un des monuments les plus précieux de l'histoire de l'Ouest américain. De quoi s'agit-il? Il faut pour cela remonter aux explorations du Canadien-français Pierre Gaultier de Varennes et de la Vérendrye et de ses fils, à partir des années 1730, qui furent les premiers Européens à ouvrir des routes commerciales au nord-ouest du lac Supérieur.

En 1742-1743, deux des fils La Vérendrye, Louis-Joseph et François, entreprirent une expédition mémorable dans le sud-ouest, à partir du fort La Reine (situé au sud du lac Manitoba), où ils rencontrèrent diverses nations indiennes (Mandanes, Corbeaux, Arikaras…). Ils atteignirent les Black Hills, dans l’actuel Dakota du Sud, puis séjournèrent en mars 1743 dans un village arikara, au bord de la rivière Missouri, avant de prendre le chemin du retour. Louis-Joseph enfouit alors sous terre, en guise de témoignage, à l'insu des Arikaras, une plaque de plomb portant sur un côté une inscription latine qu'on peut traduire ainsi : « L’an 26 du règne de Louis XV. Pour le roi, très illustre seigneur. Par Monsieur le Marquis de Beauharnois, 1741. Placé par Pierre Gaultier de Laverendrie ». Sur l'autre côté, les noms des deux frères et de leurs deux compagnons français avaient été gravés à la hâte.

Les deux frères espéraient-ils revenir sur place? Malheureusement, ils ne purent jamais concrétiser les formidables opportunités commerciales créées par leur amitié avec ces nouvelles nations indiennes inconnues jusqu'alors. Le village arikara était situé sur le site de la ville de Fort Pierre et la plaque de plomb resta enfouie sur une colline du site jusqu'en…1913! Il s'agit du tout premier témoignage écrit de la présence européenne dans le Dakota du Sud.

Aujourd'hui, la ville de Fort Pierre s'apprête à commémorer le bicentenaire de sa naissance (1817-2017). Le site La Vérendrye et le site du Fort Pierre Chouteau, tous deux National Historic Landmark, sont les deux témoins de l'étonnante histoire francophone de la ville.

Jean-Marc Agator

Documentation :

  • Gilles Havard, Histoire des coureurs de bois, Amérique du Nord, 1600-1840, p.386 (Carte de l'Ouest des chasseurs, 1ère moitié du 19e siècle), pp.388-391 (Les engagés du haut Missouri), Les Indes savantes, Paris, avril 2016.
  • South Dakota State Historical Society, Archaeological Research Center, Research Report n°3, The 1997-2001 Excavations at Fort Pierre Chouteau, volume 2 "Material Culture", pp.267-271 (Historical Background, Fur Trade Society), 2010.
  • Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, Louis-Joseph Gaultier de la Vérendrye.
  • Western South Dakota, North American Forts, 1526-1956.

À propos de l'auteur

Ingénieur français de la recherche publique dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies de l’énergie, Jean-Marc Agator est aussi passionné par l’histoire du Canada et des communautés francophones d’Amérique du nord dans toute leur diversité culturelle. Il est l’auteur du site internet Chemins de la Francophonie où il souhaite faire partager sa passion aux internautes à travers des articles destinés à un large public francophone.

Partagez cette chronique avec vos connaissances